‘Tempo Sem Tempo’ is the fifth studio album by São Paulo based clarinet player, singer and composer Joana Queiroz, now available on vinyl for the first time outside of Brazil. It is indeed a timeless record. A cocooning blend of looped reeds and low-key electronics holding melodies and lyrics. When Joana sings, it’s with noble restraint and grace, as can be heard on four songs including Gilberto Gil’s ‘Seu Olhar’ and ‘Dois Litorais’ by her friend and Quartabê band mate Mariá Portugal. Standing out on ‘Tempo Sem Tempo’ is a wistful beauty that makes it easy to immerse oneself in the intimate vastness of this album.

Musical production by Joana Queiroz and Bruno Qual
Clarinet, tenor saxophone, bass clarinet, voice and arrangements by Joana Queiroz
Sergio Krakowski (tambourine in Cidade)
Domenico Lancellotti (drums, percussions and MPC in Jóia)
Mariá Portugal (drums in Seu Olhar)
Bruno Qual (textures and processing on all tracks except O Barco)
Recorded by Igor Ferreira at Estúdio Gayatri
Mixed by Chico Neves at Estudio 304
Mastered by Taiji Okuda at Estúdio MSR
Vinyl Master by Martin Ruch
Additional recordings by Guilherme Marques (Frigideira), Bernardo Barata, Fabio Pincz (12 Dólares), Conrado Góes, Gilberto Monte (Bamba Music), Leonardo Mendes (Plug In) and Bruno Qual
Art by Pilar Rocha
Typography by Maximilian Schachtner

  • Joana Queiroz

    Clarinet player, singer, and composer from Brazil. Has collaborated with Itiberê Zwarg, Hermeto Pascoal, Gilberto Gil, Joyce, Virginia Rodrigues, Arrigo Barnabé, Rafael Martini and many others. Part of group Quartabê

    • Tempo Sem Tempo

      140g vinyl, comes with an essay in printed envelope

      € 25€ 21